My name is Molly Fillion

My name is Molly Fillion

I am what some might term a professional humanitarian, a hopelessly perpetual volunteer. I graduated from Cedarville in 2010 with a B.A. in Biology, having completed the honors program. Growth sustained while at CU, namely as a result of the philosophy program, led me to persevere through 27 months of service as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Belize, Central America. I am now serving at an intentional community for people with disabilities in rural Ireland, where my core values and strength of character are challenged every day.
Were it not for the philosophy program, I seriously question whether I would have excelled post-graduation. Classes with Mills, Graves, and others taught me to think critically and creatively, to carefully observe all factors surrounding a situation, to understand humanity as a whole. From MoMM to Colloquium, I was challenged to deeply considered what I believe and why, as well as how my beliefs had gotten there in the first place, and to extrapolate such concepts to the world around me and the people I encounter every day. Because of the philosophy program, I am better able to comprehend and empathize with the diverse and often complicated populations with which I work.
What I appreciate most about my philosophy professors was not necessarily how eloquently they made their points in the classroom, but how they lived it out after hours. I had the honor of serving alongside these men in an obscure neighborhood in Springfield; they truly demonstrated how to care for each human soul as a reflection of Christ. Every day, as go to work in a caring profession, I am inspired by their example. It is not the academics at Cedarville I recall most strongly, but the emphasis on thinking critically and exercising the mind daily.
I am saddened and deeply disturbed by the prospect of dismissing such an influential and vital component of a university which seeks to be known as exemplary in both secular and religious circles. It is only through harnessing the power of God-given reason, as the philosophy program so strongly advocates, that we have any hope of making a positive mark on this broken world.

Leave a Reply

