My name is Emily Gneiser

My name is Emily Gneiser

I am a December 2012 graduate of the Organizational Communications program at Cedarville University.

When news of the removal of the Philosophy program reached me, I was quite shocked and disappointed. I believe the study of Philosophy is essential for not only any well-rounded university, but for any individual. Philosophy is the study and the pursuit of wisdom and truth. This pursuit should be central to each and everyone of our lives.

The professors of the program are well-educated, brilliant individuals. I had the privilege of listening in on several of Dr. Mills’ lectures on the study abroad trip to France this past May. His knowledge of vast subjects and deep topics was remarkable. I only wish I had taken all of his classes. The loss of Dr. Mills and the other Philosophy professors would be detrimental to the University.

I truly believe the termination of the Philosophy program would be the loss of the teaching of critical thinking skills and the loss of the importance of the pursuit of truth.

Leave a Reply

