My name is Courtney Davis

My name is Courtney Davis

I graduated from Cedarville University in 2010 with a degree in International Studies. I am now working at Bethesda Mission Youth Center in inner-city Harrisburg, PA.

In college, I took two classes with Dr Graves which were among the most valuable to me while at Cedarville. While at Cedarville, the classes in philosophy were what made me really think upon why I am a Christian. The study of philosophy taught me to ask questions and reach deep when it comes to matters of faith. It strengthened my relationship with the Lord and, I believe, helped me understand how to operate as a Christian in the real world apart from Cedarville.

I remember stepping into Dr Graves’ classroom my sophomore year, thinking that I had finally figured out what it meant to walk like Jesus and getting a good “shake-up” when I realized that I still had so, so much to learn. I am so thankful for the lessons learned and the way that philosophy has challenged me. It has helped me in making sense of how I am to relate as a believe in the environment that I find myself in now, an environment so different from my own. It has helped me see that even though your environment may change and you face hardships, the truth of Christ still stands.

It would be a grievous decision for Cedarville to end a program that is sending out its graduates truly equipped for the real world. You would be taking away the most important opportunities that I am so thankful that I had while in college.

1 Peter 3:15
“But in your hearts revere Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have.”

Leave a Reply

