My name is Timothy Sparks

My name is Timothy Sparks

I graduated from Cedarville University in 2003 with a BA in philosophy. I have an MA in philosophy from San Diego State University and I am a current philosophy doctoral student and teaching assistant at Temple University. I am also an active duty US Marine, a veteran of the Iraq war, a husband and a father of two. My Dad told me to go to Cedarville because I would learn how to think there, not just what to think. I reluctantly followed his advise. Were it not for the philosophy program and the honors program I would not have stayed. I will admit that I was not the ideal student, but I learned this: the more you know, the more you realize what you don’t know. What students like me need is the opportunity to ask the questions that really concern us without fear of reprisal. In order to do so, we need professors who can work through those questions with sympathy (the sympathy that comes from seriously asking these questions themselves). I would hate to know that current and future Cedarville students won’t have that opportunity. I protest the removal of the philosophy program and its professors.

Leave a Reply

