My name is Sarah Jones

My name is Sarah Jones

I recently graduated from the Centre for Cultural Studies at Goldsmiths, University of London with an MA in Postcolonial Culture and Global Policy. In 2011, I graduated from Cedarville University with a BA in International Studies. My graduate work focuses on political philosophy and I can credit Dr. Mills’ introductory course as an important influence on my decision to pursue this subject. The theories I learned in that class provided me with the basic skills to critically consider my approach to politics and faith. Though I am now an agnostic, Dr. Mills and his colleagues set an early example that still reminds me of the compatibility of faith and reason. Today, as a Cedarville alumna and aspiring academic, I vehemently protest the removal of the philosophy department. I do so because I know that the decision to remove a department so specifically focused on the development of ideas is a direct attack on critical thought and intellectual enquiry; as a student of political philosophy, I understand the implications of that attack. I am grateful to Dr. Mills for those early lessons and I demand transparency on this issue from my alma mater.

Leave a Reply

