My name is Jessica Peck

My name is Jessica Peck

I am a 5th grade social studies teacher and Teach for America Alumna. I graduated Cedarville in 2010 with a bachelor’s degree in history & social studies education and also completed the Honors Program. 

I protest the removal of the philosophy program. Studying philosophy through the honors program developed and sharpened my personal beliefs and scholarship. Ultimately, the honors program classes and Dr. Mills pushed me to “love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your MIND, and your neighbor as yourself,” (Lk 10:27). The honors program (rooted in philosophy) was the most valuable aspect of my time at Cedarville. Though I never majored in philosophy, the mindset I developed in those classes greatly helped me in my studies at Oxford University and as a teacher. The number of students in the major doesn’t matter. It’s all about the inherent worth of the subject and its implications for all others areas of study. Ending the philosophy program and possibly terminating faculty would be a severe loss to the Cedarville family and future students.

Leave a Reply

