My name is Denise Yvette Serna

My name is Denise Yvette Serna

I am currently pursuing my MFA in Theatre Directing at East 15 Acting School in London, UK. I graduated from Cedarville in 2011 with a degree in Theatre Performance and Design, and I protest the removal of the Philosophy Program at Cedarville University.

As a student of the humanities, my life and my work were directly influenced by the community of thinkers the Philosophy Department created. My interactions with students of this program, whether in forensics/debate, the theatre, or my work with theatre for social change, has always been challenging and rewarding. To eliminate the
philosophy department would greatly disadvantage future Cedarville students and their interactive dialogue within the community. I also sincerely hope that the removal of this program will not set a precedent for removing other valuable programs in the arts and humanities, and displacing the students and faculty who have made those pursuits their life’s work.

Leave a Reply

